About Us


Brisbane West Deanery incorporates seven Parishes in the western suburbs of Brisbane, comprising of eleven church communities (as listed below).  The Priests of the Deanery meet on a regular basis. The Dean of Brisbane West Deanery is the Very Rev Fr Mark Franklin. 

Corinda Graceville St Joseph's Corinda
Christ the King, Graceville
Brisbane West Deanery location map
click here for interactive location map
Darra Jindalee
Our Lady of the Sacred Heart, Darra
Twelve Apostles, Jindalee
Inala St Mark's, Inala 
Indooroopilly Holy Family, Indooroopilly
Kenmore Our Lady of the Rosary, Kenmore
St Catherine's, Moggill
St Lucia St Thomas Aquinas, St Lucia
St Ignatius, Toowong
Holy Spirit, Auchenflower

Deanery Pastoral Council

The Deanery Pastoral Council is a representative body which, together with the Dean, and the Clergy of the Deanery, shares responsibility for promoting the nine Archdiocesan priorities in the Deanery. The Council helps to plan and coordinate Deanery projects to assist Parishes to implement these priorities, and provides a forum for the discussion of Deanery and wider Church issues.


Deanery BannerDeanery Banner
The meaning behind our deanery banner is:   "Eucharist - Summit and Source". 
The imagery on the banner consists of a golden orb, shaped like a Communion host, with a cross marking, which is surrounded by a corona of blue, green and yellow, which suggest natural elements of sky, earth and sun.  Beneath the orb are a set of contour lines in the same natural colours.  The Eucharist is a wholeness symbol which 'contains and nourishes the world'.

Jesus Communion Mission
What is a Deanery

A Deanery is a regional cluster of Parishes within a diocese, working together on common ministries and headed by a Dean. The Deanery has the role of fostering mutual support between its Parishes, joint planning of key elements of pastoral life and mission, and sharing of resources. The Dean provides leadership in the Deanery in the implementation of the Jesus Communion Mission vision and priorities promulgated by the Archbishop following Synod.

Across the Archdiocese of Brisbane there are 109 Parishes that are grouped into 13 geographical Deaneries.


   back to top
© Brisbane West Deanery                                                                                                                                                          Website by School Site Solutions